Zip It Up

So, that is me.  See, there’s my fanny pack! – So, how did I get here??

The summer traditions keep coming!

Cousin Week

picture 024

It’s just a good natured competition with my sister-in-law to pull out all the stops and create the Best Week Ever!  We get to spoil our kiddos and promote some good old extended family bonding all at the same time.

IMG_0330.JPG

This goes all the way back to at least preschool.  I think it started with my son staying with my nephew for vbs and moved right along to 4 kids here and 4 kids there, each summer.

It is so key for the kids to be able to spend time with family… otherwise, if they end up on Dateline, YOU, PARENTS, alone will be blamed for whatever lands them in the hot seat with Lester Holt.  You gotta cover those bases!

I digress,

so,

Cousin Week

As their summers got busier it became a little harder to find the time.  We made it just one week alternating here one summer and there the next.

picture with flower 1076
they all have goggles on because the fire pit was smoky.

Currently, we split.  Last summer I got two 5th grade girls, my sister-in-law had two 6th grade boys.  This summer I get two 7th grade boys and she gets two 6th grade girls.

IMG_0070.JPG
Salina 2016

I feel like it was easier to wow them as preschoolers; Kaleidoscope, camp at The Nelson, a different pool every day, bike rides, etc…

These days it’s a little tougher, but coming up with things to do with the girls isn’t too bad.  Last year they hosted the grand parents for a multi-course dinner party.

They planned the menu, did the baking and cooking, made centerpieces and everything.  We went to the fabric store to get materials for travel toiletry bags, got pedicures, painted at Grapes and Paints.  I braided my nieces hair… which I rule at!  It was all Totes Adorbz!

This summer, with the last week in June set aside and my daughter (thrilled beyond all get out to be) headed out for Cousin Week in Salina, I was wracking my brain for ideas to fill the week with my son and nephew here in KC.

That place where trains bring your food, not going to cut it anymore.

I gotta kick it up a notch.  I took them to a bar.

20170630_145625_1498852657645_14991943682101.jpg

Desperate times

Did I say bar?  I’m sorry, barcade.  Classic games, all ages ’til 8pm, unlimited play for 5 bucks.  This is at Tapcade, you should go, plus the food is good and I read a book the whole time.

Other big hit of the week and definite crowd favorite:

Image result for zip kc
zipkc.com

 

This isn’t cheap, but compared to 60 seconds of ifly it’s a great deal.  If you’re between 70 and 300 pounds, I would highly recommend it.  We all loved it, and I am a huge chicken!

Let the kids go first, so that they don’t have to witness your prayer swear breakdown… I kid, it wasn’t as bad as canoeing into a tree.  Although I thought hitting another one might put my jaw back where it goes.  Not a scratch from this though, but that first step off the platform takes a second of bravery for sure.

Here’s their video of somebody doing the one we did.  Our pics aren’t great, it was tough to focus on.

I’m totally counting this toward my midlife crisis!

DSC00120.JPG

We had the best time and all three of us would totally go again.

Oh, and since it’s the 4th! Happy 4th of July!

 

One thought on “Zip It Up

  1. This about made me cry! I love all the pics! I love cousin week, it’s a highlight of our summer for sure. Kim Clinton lake here we come… 🙂

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

Leave a Reply

