The Groove That’s in my Heart

Most of my days begin with a song.
This morning I sang the Growing Pains theme song, in an attempt to get my daughter to pull back the tangle of bedding, pillows and stuffed animals that she refers to as her nest, so that she could “Show me that smile again.

I got nailed with a plush unicorn long before I made it to, “As long as we got each other.”

Undeterred, I shuffled on down the hall,
“The Low oord, told Mommy, to go and toast your Bagels bagels,

Bay gulls! Made Of! … Hickory Barky barky….”

I know you’ll be suprised to find out that I don’t really have much of a music background.

I hopped the fence to take piano lessons from a talented neighbor mama, when I was a little kid.
Piano was a great instrument to start with.   You learn treble and bass clef, which is helpful for transitioning to lots of other instruments, but not viola.

I started playing the viola, when I was in 4th grade.  That went on clear through high school, even though sometimes I wasn’t really playing.  When I graduated, I still needed my stand partner, my bff Carrie Beth, to tune it for me.
I definitely was not the best viola player ever, but I loved the people there.

I think the viola is the only alto clef instrument, unless you’re willing to play one of those yucky band instruments, that you have to put your mouth on, but remember, the alto clef is just there to mess with you anyway.

As an adult I picked up the guitar.
Although, I haven’t really picked it up in the last decade…

This week I’ve been working on a little song.
It’s about my most habitual prayer, so of course, it’s a country song.

You can just free style the melody, but I’ll share the lyrics with you.

They go a little like this…

Give me a green light Je-esus,
I think, I didn’t leave too soon
Told my kids to pack, while I tripped on my cat
Gotta fish my keys out of juice.

(sometimes there’s a second verse…)

Maybe need just one re-ed light
Need to write a message on this card,
Dig through purse, eat a frozen burrito
And stop the wrestling in this carrrr.

Maybe I’ll just stick to painting and non-musical writing.

I so wish that my most unceasing prayers were noble and inspiring,
but if I’m honest, green lights probably fill an embarrassingly large slice of that pie chart.

One thought on “The Groove That’s in my Heart

Leave a Reply

